Movies | Music | Masti Close Aha Ad
Watch Latest Movies & Web Series on AHA!
Movies | Music | Music


Eega receives two National Awards

60th National Film Awards ceremony was held on May 3rd marking 100 years of Indian Cinema. Talent across Bollywood, South, Marathi and Bengali received awards from President Pranab Mukherjee in various categories on Friday. Rajamouli made our Telugu community proud by winning two National awards for ‘Eega’ – Best Feature Film (Telugu) and Best Special Effects. ‘Eega’ was one among 38 films from 14 languages which got selected in Best Feature Film category. Bollywood’s ace villain Pran who won the prestigious Dada Saheb Phalke Award at 93 could not make it to the function.

Bollywood film ‘Paan Singh Tomar’ won Best Feature Film award. ‘Vicky Donor’ won 3 national awards – Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainer, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress. Vidhya Balan starrer ‘Kahaani’ too bagged 3 national awards – Best Screenplay, Best Editing and Specila Jury. Along with ‘Kahani’, another Bollywood film ‘OMG – Oh My God’ won national award in the category of Best Screenplay. Irrfan Khan for ‘Paan Singh Tomar’ and Marathi actor Vikram Gokhale for ‘Anumati’ were honoured with National awards as Best Actors for 2012. Usha Jadav won best actress national award for her performance in Marathi movie ‘Dhag’. Shankar Mahadevan won Best Male Playback singer for the song ‘Bolo Na’ in the film ‘Chittagong’. Special Jury Award was given away to four Hindi films ‘Kahaani’, Gang of Wasseypur – Part 2’, ‘Dekh Indian Circus’ and ‘Talaash’.

Kamal Haasan’s ‘Vishwaroopam’ also won two national awards in the categories of Best Art Direction and Best Choreography while another Tamil Movie ‘Vazhakku Enn 18/9’ won the Best Feature Film (Tamil) award apart from winning Best Make-up Artist award. Best Feature Film (Malayalam) was awarded to ‘Celluloid’ and Best Feature Film (Kannada) award to ‘Bharath Stores’. ‘Lessons in Forgetting’ won Best Feature Film in English. Best Book on Cinema award was presented to author B D Garga for ‘Silent Cinema in India: A Pictorial Journey’.